Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


7 May 2024

Club News


7 May 2024

Sponsored by

Rotherham United manager Steve Evans has confirmed his full retained and released list following the conclusion of the 2023/24 campaign.

With a major summer rebuild on his hands, the headline news is that a minimum of 16 players will depart AESSEAL New York Stadium this summer.

The Millers boss has promptly finalised his retained list following the final match of the campaign just gone, having concluded meetings with the entirety of his first team squad regarding their futures.

Evans confirmed that discussions have been opened with Jamie Lindsay – who was set to be out of contract this summer – while an option has been activated to retain the services of young pro Ciaran McGuckin for a further year.

Meanwhile, no fewer than 11 senior professionals including the likes of Sean Morrison, Lee Peltier and Shane Ferguson will all leave the club upon the expiration of their current deals.

Evans has also indicated that the club will listen to offers for two players under contract for the 2024/25 campaign in Jamie McCart and Josh Kayode, who have been made available for immediate transfer.


The retained list in full is as follows:


Players under contract who will remain at the club (12):

Andre Green

Cameron Humphreys

Christ Tiehi

Cohen Bramall

Dillon Phillips

Hakeem Odoffin

Jordan Hugill

Ollie Rathbone

Peter Kioso

Sam Nombe

Tom Eaves

Viktor Johansson


Players under contract who have been made available for immediate transfer (2):

Jamie McCart

Josh Kayode


2023/24 season loanees returning to their parent clubs (5):

Andy Rinomhota

Arvin Appiah

Charlie Wyke

Femi Seriki

Seb Revan


The club are in discussions with the following player who was due to be out of contract about a potential new deal (1):

Jamie Lindsay


Young professionals under contract to be retained (5):

Ben Hatton

Ciaran McGuckin – Option to extend contract my a further year activated

Hamish Douglas

Jake Hull

Josh Ayres


Players out of contract and subsequently leaving Rotherham United (11):


Curtis Durose

Grant Hall

Joel Holvey

Lee Peltier

Nat Ford

Sam Clucas

Sean Morrison

Shane Ferguson

Tolaji Bola

Tyler Blackett


Everyone at Rotherham United would like to those leaving the club for their contributions while at AESSEAL New York Stadium.


Millers boss Steve Evans said:

“There have been some honest and open discussions with players in and out of contract and we have had to make some really difficult decisions, but each one of those has been made with the future of Rotherham United at the forefront of our priorities.

“I’d like to place on-record that everyone in the building has been a pleasure to work with since I walked through the door and those departing the club do so with our very best wishes.

“It is clear that this summer is an important one in terms of recruitment but we are already well-underway with the process and excited about the challenge that lies ahead.

“Work is ongoing at Roundwood and AESSEAL New York Stadium and I will look to keep supporters informed around the progress we make throughout the coming weeks and months.”


Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account