Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

READ | Sky Bet Play-off Semi Final dates announced

13 April 2018

EFL logo Statement

The proposed 2017/18 Sky Bet Play-Off Semi-Final dates have been confirmed across all three divisions, with domestic campaigns drawing to a close in what promises to be a nerve-wracking, yet exciting finale for supporters across the country.

The first legs of the Sky Bet Championship Play-Off Semi-Finals will take place on 11 and 12 of May, with the return legs three days later on the 14 and 15. Just five points separate fifth placed Derby County and eleventh placed Preston North End, with a total of eight teams contesting the remaining three Play-Off places available.

Steve Bruce’s Aston Villa are on the verge of confirming their place, whilst Neil Harris’ Millwall currently sit in sixth position hoping to continue their remarkable recent form – despite the likes of Middlesbrough, Bristol City and Sheffield United hot on their tails.

A three-way battle for two automatic promotion spots in Sky Bet League One has left one Play-Off place already confirmed, with Shrewsbury Town currently in third place, but aiming to overtake either Blackburn Rovers or Wigan Athletic come the beginning of May.

Sky Bet League One Play-Off Semi-Finals will start on Thursday 10 May, with the other first leg tie to take place on Saturday 12 May. The second legs, to be held on Sunday 13 May and Wednesday 16 May, will then decide who will contest the Play-Off Final at Wembley Stadium connected by EE.

Rotherham United currently hold the strongest grip of those not yet to confirm their place, but with five teams separated by just two points below the Millers a few twists and turns are expected between now and the end of the season.

Sky Bet League Two begin their Play-Off fixtures on Saturday 12 May before the return legs on Thursday 17 May and Friday 18 May in what is shaping up to be the most hotly-contested run-in, with twelve teams still mathematically possible of achieving a Play-Off berth.

Only Accrington Stanley and Luton Town have guaranteed themselves a place, although both sides will be looking to consolidate their position at the top of the standings and avoid the drama of the Play-Offs.

The proposed 2017/18 Sky Bet Play-Off Semi-Final schedule is as follows:

Sky Bet Championship

Friday 11 May                         Championship A                                              Kick-off 7.45pm 

Saturday 12 May                    Championship B                                             Kick-off 5:15pm


Monday 14 May                      Championship A                                              Kick-off 7.45pm

Tuesday 15 May                     Championship B                                             Kick-off 7.45pm


Sky Bet League One

Thursday 10 May                    League One A                                                Kick-off 7.45pm

Saturday 12 May                    League One B                                                Kick-off 12.30pm


Sunday 13 May                       League One A                                                Kick-off 5.15pm

Wednesday 16 May                League One B                                                Kick-off 7.45pm


Sky Bet League Two

Saturday 12 May                    League Two A                                                Kick-off 3.00pm 

Saturday 12 May                    League Two B                                                Kick-off 7.30pm


Thursday 17 May                    League Two A                                                Kick-off 7.45pm  

Friday 18 May                         League Two B                                                Kick-off 7.45pm


Play-Off Finals

Saturday 26 May                    Championship Final                                        Kick-off 5.00pm  

Sunday 27 May                       League One Final                                           Kick-off 3.00pm  

Monday 28 May                      League Two Final                                            Kick-off 3.00pm


* Kick-off times subject to change based on police intelligence.

Advertisement block