Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

England under 17 squad announced

29 October 2015

Club News

England under 17 squad announced

29 October 2015

Sponsored by

England Under-17s head coach Steve Cooper has named his squad for next month's double header with Germany.

The first fixture, on Wednesday 18 November, takes place behind closed doors at St. George's Park but two days later the Young Lions will take to the turf in front of the BT Sport cameras at Rotherham United's AESSEAL New York Stadium.

They will be looking to preserve a proud record in South Yorkshire, with last year's Under-19s squad defeating Italy at the same venue, while two seasons ago the Under-18s beat Germany at the Millers' home.

The fixtures offer a renewed opportunity for players born in 1999 to impress.

This month's FIFA U17 World Cup in Chile was open to last year's group, and the side was led by U18s head coach Neil Dewsnip, with Steve Cooper as his assistant coach.

This time Cooper takes the lead, with the bulk of the squad having travelled to Portugal for the 2016 UEFA European U17 Championship qualifiers against San Marino, Armenia and the hosts earlier this month. 

England topped the group, firing 13 goals past their first two opponents before drawing 1-1 with Portugal.

Southampton's Callum Slattery is among the players returning to the squad after a short spell out with injury, while Arsenal midfielder Marcus Agyei-Tabi earns his first call-up.

Tickets for the game at Rotherham are on sale now and priced at just £3 for adults and £1.50 for children/OAPs.

Call Rotherham on 08444 140754

Jared Thompson (Chelsea), Ryan Sandford (Millwall)

Trevoh Chalobah (Chelsea), Japhet Tanganga (Tottenham Hotspur), Edward Francis (Manchester City), Tolaji Bola (Arsenal), Jaden Brown (Tottenham Hotspur), Jordan Williams (Huddersfield), Dujon Sterling (Chelsea)

Marcus Agyei-Tabi (Arsenal), Callum Slattery (Southampton), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Andre Dozzell (Ipswich Town), Dennis Adeniran (Fulham)

Reiss Nelson (Arsenal), Samuel Shashoua (Tottenham Hotspur), Martell Taylor-Crossdale (Chelsea), Niall Ennis (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Jonathan Leko (West Bromwich Albion), Mackenzie Heaney (Newcastle United)

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account