Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

League to appoint independent Director

19 March 2014

The Football League is to appoint an additional independent non-executive director to its Board of Directors, increasing its membership to nine.
The Board currently consists of two independent directors (including Chairman, Greg Clarke) and six elected directors from member clubs (including three from Championship clubs, two from League 1 clubs and one from League 2 clubs).
Football League Chairman, Greg Clarke said: “It is important that The Football League continues to review and refine its governance structure and processes to ensure they work as effectively as possible.  The use of independent directors brings greater continuity to the Board, as well as additional skills and knowledge.  Richard Bowker and before him, Ian Ritchie have both made significant contributions as independent directors and I look forward to working with the successful candidate in future.” 
The position will be advertised nationally.
The Board of The Football League:
Greg Clarke - Chairman
Richard Bowker – Independent Non-Executive Director
Karl Oyston - Blackpool
Keith Lamb – Middlesbrough
Andy Ambler – Millwall
John Nixon – Carlisle United
James Rodwell – Notts County
Ian Lenagan – Oxford United

Advertisement block