Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Pringle nets goal of 2013

22 January 2014

Cup strike chosen by supporters...

Ben Pringle’s expertly taken volley will represent the Millers in the Football League’s 2013 Goal of the Year competition.

The goal, which opened the scoring in the Capital One Cup first round tie against Sheffield Wednesday was voted for by supporters via email, Twitter and Facebook. 

We asked supporters to choose their favourite from a list of goals in the last calendar year, and it was a runaway victory for Pringle who anticpated a flick-on towards the far post before taking aim and rifling into the top corner to set the Millers on their way to knocking out the Owls. The winning goal in that game was also in the running, but was easily beaten by Pringle’s strike.

A judging panel will now review a goal from every club, pitting Pringle against 71 other teams in the Football League and the top 1- will be shown on Soccer AM on Saturday 9th February. Supporters will then vote those 10 down to a shortlist of five before the winner is announced at the annual Football League Awards at The Brewery, on March 16th. 

Watch the nominations below, and Pringle’s strike against the Owls which will go forward as the Millers’ chosen goal. 

Advertisement block