Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Mitre Goal of the Year

14 January 2014

Help find our best goal of 2013!

The Football League have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2013 and we are asking for your help in deciding which of our goals from the last 12 months should be put forward as our nomination.

We can nominate one goal from any Football League competition in the 2013 calendar year, to include goals scored in the Sky Bet Football League, the Capital One Cup and the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy.

We want fans to help us decide our club nomination by emailing with your suggestion/nomination.

Some goals that may bring back fond memories include:

Lee Frecklington’s late leveller against Crewe on the opening day of the season.

Ben Pringle’s strike in the League Cup victory over Sheffield Wednesday, and Frecklington’s goal in the same game wasn’t bad either?

Kieran Agard’s terrific header from Pringle’s pinpoint cross against Wolves.

Haris Vuckic’s curling effort in the Boxing Day victory at Bradford.

They are just a few suggestions, can you think of anymore? Remember we are celebrating the calendar year so goals from the back end of last season do count.

The closing date for votes/nominations for your goal will be Monday 20th January at 2pm.

Our nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the Football League Awards 2014.  A judging panel will then review the goals with the top 10 being shown on Sky Sports’ Soccer AM on 9th February.  Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for goals to make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the glittering Awards ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday 16th March 2014.

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest – 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2009), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2005).

To find out more about The Football League Awards please visit

Advertisement block