Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Millers make decision on youngsters

16 May 2013

New scholars inducted...

Rotherham United have signed eight first year scholars for next season.

Defenders Luke Gibson, Max Hallett and Mason Warren, midfielders Alex Wiles and Jake Fenton and attackers Andrew Norfolk, Jerry Yates and Adam Johnson have all signed for next season to join up with this season’s first year scholars.

Gibson, Hallett, Wiles, Norfolk, Yates and Johnson have been promoted from the Millers under 16s squad, whilst Warren signs from Doncaster and Fenton is a former Newcastle United schoolboy who was signed after being seen at the Football League end of season exit trials.

“We held the new scholar induction (Monday) and sat down with the eight players who will be given scholarships,” said Head of Academy Coaching Tony Mee.

“We held a big meeting which was attended by members of the youth department, Chief Operating Officer Paul Douglas and John Barton from the LFE (League Football Education), where we discussed football and also the education side of the scholarship which is vitally important.

“We now have a squad of 18 for next season which is the maximum you can receive funding for from the LFE, but this can be supplemented by under 16s and trialists if necessary.”

Luke Beedham, Laurence McKay, Dominic Hart, Giorgio Williams, John Travis and Phil Woods have come to the end of their two year scholarships and have been released.

“It is always tough when you have to tell players they are being released, especially this year with the likes of Dominic Hart and Phil Woods being with the club from such a young age,” added Mee.

“Phil, Dominic and Laurence McKay have been offered scholarships to play in America, so they now have the opportunity to play abroad. Everyone in the youth department would like to wish all the lads the best for the future.”

Advertisement block