Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Mitre Goal of the Year

6 February 2013

Help find our best goal of 2012!

The Football League have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2012 and we are asking for your help in deciding which of our goals from the last 12 months should be put forward as our nomination.

We can nominate one goal from any Football League competition in the 2012 calendar year, to include goals scored in the npower Football League, the Capital One Cup and the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy.

We want fans to help us decide our club nomination by emailing your suggestion to 

It has been another cracking calendar year for goals, and here is a reminder of some of the great goals the Millers scored in 2012, but the ultimate decision is down to you.

• Mark Bradley v Wycombe
After the Millers had been pegged back by Wycombe at New York Stadium late in December, a moment of magic by Mark Bradley saw him meet a left-wing corner with a superb volley that rocketed beyond everyone into the back of the net.

• Ben Pringle v Bradford City
The Millers were already leading 2-0 thanks to Michael O’Connor and Gareth Evans when Ben Pringle picked up the ball on halfway, before bypassing two defenders on his way to the edge of the 18 yard-box and then curling into the far post to send the 11,000 plus crowd wild.

• Jason Taylor v Gillingham
Jason Taylor doesn’t score many goals, but as his strike at Lincoln proved a few years ago, he is capable of the odd stunner. With the Millers trailing to the league-leaders, Taylor met Courtney Cameron’s lay-off to thunder the ball into the top corner.

• Bob Harris v Aldershot
The Millers picked up their first away victory of the season at Aldershot, and did it in some style. Lee Frecklington had already notched a debut goal when they were awarded a free-kick on the edge of the box. Blackpool loanee Harris stepped up and executed it magnificently to help them on their way to a 3-0 win.

• Lionel Ainsworth v Hull City
The first competitive goal of the season, and one that put the Millers ahead at the KC Stadium. Kari Arnason and David Noble combined on the left with the latter crossing to the edge of the box where Ainsworth volleyed home via the underside of the crossbar to set a very high standard for the season.

• Michael O’Connor v Bradford City
The game wasn’t even a minute in when Michael O’Connor picked up the ball 40 yards from goal, before advancing five yards and striking the ball beyond Matt Duke to give the Millers an early lead in this Yorkshire derby. 

• Lewis Grabban v Morecambe
The penultimate game at Don Valley, and Steve Evans’ first victory as manager saw a dramatic strike win it for the Millers. With the match heading for a draw, top scorer Lewis Grabban struck the ball left-footed into the far post beyond Barry Roche. 

Email your suggestions by Monday 11th February.

Our nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the Football League Awards 2013.  The winner will be decided at the glittering Awards ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday 24th March 2013.

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2012), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2011), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2010), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2009), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2008), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2007) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2006).

To find out more about The Football League Awards please visit

Advertisement block